Reflections on 2014

image
Photo credit: newyearsms.net

2014 has been a whirlwind of a year and the biggest personal test for me. Before it ends, I’d like to share my reflections on it:

1. I decided against a career in teaching and wanted to pursue my desire to write. Dropping the whole idea, I decided to change up my whole career pathway, and I was terrified.

2. I gained a First in my second year of university after a year of hard graft, long working hours and the utmost dedication. My second year of university was the most joyous for me and will forever hold a special place in my heart. A big shout out to my Women’s Movement module and lecturer without whom I couldn’t be the feminist I am today.

3. I went on holiday to Rome in Italy – this was my first ever holiday aside from visiting India and it was the craziest few days of sightseeing, spending the happiest time with my family, getting sunburnt, taking lovely pictures and absorbing the most stunning sites of culture and wonder. I also visited Manali in India which was the biggest sensory overload and a place akin to paradise. Despite the cold and my illness, I had the most breath-taking experience of my life up in the mountains of India. Both these holidays were unforgettable.

4. I applied for work experience with the Guardian a day before the deadline with no hope of getting it. I got selected for an interview and I made (what felt like) a fool out of myself. I had a shocker when little old me was selected to intern there and later, gained a chance to intern with British Airways’ High Life magazine. I still cannot believe that I was given such amazing opportunities. I’m so grateful.

5. I started up a magazine-style website recruiting writers who wrote fantastic articles. I ran the whole show with the help of my best friend, whose help was invaluable to me. This was a tremendous project and I hope to continue it in 2015.

6. I gained a huge sense of self-confidence and self-respect this year, which meant I very easily chose who I wanted to keep in my life and who I wanted to let go of. This was a drastic change but clearing out the clutter and investing my energies in those who really matter has been a breath of fresh air. The saying “quality over quantity” could not ring truer for me. I have had the best time with those lovely people who have stuck around with me – I’m very, very lucky.

7. I learned, through much help, how to handle situations carefully and be assertive. A fantastic support system has helped me to get a grip on certain aspects of life in a way that’s made me a better person.

8. I started my final year of University and my first two grades were Firsts. I hope I can keep the momentum up.

9. I helped a friend in need, and it was a terrifying yet humbling experience.

Thank you 2014, you have offered me a wealth of opportunity and space to grow. I will remember you for a good while.

As the year comes to an end I’d like to thank everyone who has read my blog posts this year (and any previous years) and those who tell me what they think about them – it means a great deal to me to know that my blog is liked/loved/appreciated/doing some good for my readers. If you’re reading this and fear to tell me something PLEASE, don’t hesitate to comment and respond to a post. I like criticism too!

Thank you to everyone who has been kind to me.

Wishing everyone a very happy new year and hoping that 2015 brings the best for you all. And for me, of course. See you in 2015.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on 2014

  1. It’s so lovely to read something positive for a change – great to see how things are coming along for you! I wish you the best of luck for 2015 – keep up the blog, I love how honest you always are! x

Leave a Reply

