Eurovision: Do the British care anymore?

Conchita Wurst, winner of the 2014 Eurovision song contest for Austria.

Last night marked the 58th Eurovision song contest which took place in Copenhagen, Denmark.

I’ve grown up always being quite excited about Eurovision. I’m not sure where this excitement came from, but I do remember tuning in year after year – especially in my teenage years – hoping that Britain would win. This wasn’t the only reason I watched, as I was also fascinated with hearing the snazzy European accents and watching the little introductions to countries like Azerbaijan, which left me wondering how cool every other European country looked in comparison to England.

However, during the last few years, I simply haven’t cared about Eurovision, and it seemed my disregard of it was also reflected on my Twitter feed. However, this was the kind of carelessness and disregard where people don’t actually care about Eurovision but at the same time, feel the need to tweet about it and rip the singing contest to shreds. Of course, I’m all for slaughtering a TV show and picking out all its faults, but when it came to Eurovision, I also found myself questioning whether Britain really cares about the contest anymore?

I conclude that no, we really don’t. Until about half an hour ago, I wasn’t even aware about who was representing Britain at the Eurovision last night, and it was only from Google that I found out it was a woman named Molly. Google also informed me that she finished 17th and that more than likely, her performance was probably quite rubbish. Okay, I lied, I’ve concluded that it was probably quite rubbish. Personally, I believe that Britain likes to act like they’re interested in the whole Eurovision shebang but that really, it’s just a chance to feel part of Europe and have a little sing-song while they’re at it. There is never any intention left to actually win Eurovision, and our previous entries really showcase that…

…but it’s not just this. Eurovison on the whole has recently become more about the bizarre and eccentric and less about the singing talent – but I suppose this speaks for the music industry overall anyway. From my Twitter feed, I gathered that a lot of entries were just performing a less-than-average song and dance and hoping to win a prize that was always going to be won by Austria’s Conchita Wurst anyway. Lovingly (please note the sarcasm) labelled the ‘bearded lady’, Conchita was destined to win this accolade since her transphobic stories had been splashed across and reported heavily on within European media for the last few weeks. With that much coverage, the win was almost inevitable, so well done to Conchita.

Anyway, Eurovision has now become a laughing stock, and the prestigious nature it once may have held is surely dwindling. With Sir Terry Wogan’s departure and Graham Norton taking over the commentary, there has been an extra air of humour and mockery added to the manner in which it is presented to the British audience. Similarly, British audience themselves seem to gain a night off where they can criticise and poke fun at the random acts on-stage.

Last night seemed more about laughing at everyone, and I for one heard a lot about a cheescake or two. Eurovision just isn’t so cool anymore.

Leave a Reply

