Morrissey: telling it like it is…

image

image

image

It is no secret that I’m a huge fan of The Smiths and that I absolutely adore Morrissey. My (kind of new) blog title “Bigmouth strikes again” is one of my favourite songs by The Smiths, and as I can often be the “bigmouth” type (because I like to talk a lot, and I’m quite outspoken, and also I like to gossip) I decided to place it there because it’s quite me and also, because I needed a cool blog title.

Moving on.

I’ve had the pleasure of being able to read Morrisey’s recently published autiobiography and to somehow get closer to knowing the man that many believe to be an icon, but also, someone who continously confuses people (namely the media!) with the strange air of mystery that surrounds him.

While reading Autobiography by Morrissey, a particular passage surrounding the plight of the musician really captured my attention, reintroducing the struggle artists endure when they enter the world of celebrity and hand themselves over to a record label. To get this perspective from someone like Morrissey was definitely up there in the more amazing moments of my life, and I’m sure many a reader would have paused and thought about the authenticity of his words.

You can call me biased because naturally, I’m going to defend him. It’s clear many people view Morrissey as someone who took The Smiths into a courtoom and allowed the band’s fame to be overshadowed by court proceedings regarding who owned what and how much they were worth. However, we’re simply just looking at a man who – like many – wished to express himself. What Morrissey exposes in the section I’m referring to is the way in which the musician becomes embroiled in a game of cat and mouse, especially when their music becomes the property of their record label and when they are left without knowledge of what they’re actually getting into. As a deep thinker myself who often wonders how musicians and celebrities become so involved in legal battles and whether or not their is a fair justice system within the music industry, I was left pondering about the state of the industry (yet again!) and wished to share the passage that got me thinking about this all in the first place.

So, I took a few dodgy pictures of the aforementioned passages and hope that anyone who reads my blog – or who is interested in similar issues – will also take a minute to read the rather beautiful way Morrissey expresses his hatred for the tumult that comes with the fame and celebrity of being in a world-famous rock band.

Once you’ve read it, bow down to his genius and go and listen to The Smiths.

Leave a Reply

