Clearing out the clutter.

Clutter, whether it be literal or mental, is something that can take a while to be cleared out.

I’ve had many instances where I’ve found myself cleaning my bedroom and have decided to throw away tonnes of things I’d kept from the past. Although it can sometimes be hard to do so, it’s inevitable that things – no matter how big or small, important or unimportant – sometimes need to be removed in order to make room for more… well, things. The phrase “out with the old and in with the new” couldn’t be further from the truth when you’re thinking about this clutter and its removal.

How weird that as I was writing this post, an episode of Suburgatory (which I randomly put on to waste time before Strictly Come Dancing started) showed a man dealing with the clutter left in his home by his ex-wife. The male character in question didn’t want to throw it away and he didn’t want to keep it either, so he pondered over making an “in-between” category. It’s this in-between category which I think people should stay away from. Why do we need it?! We all must let go at some point… right?

Although my own storage cupboard is still filled with a large number of past birthday cards and messages from friends from the past, I know that what I’ve kept is still important to me. There is no in-between. What I’ve learned however, is that it’s only when you clear things – or even people – out that you begin to realise the importance of doing so from the onset. Letting go in general is an extremely difficult process, but there is always hope that once you’ve done it, some aspect of your life or your self will be better! So, that mental or literal clutter which can both surround or weigh us down is something I think we should tackle head-on, and as soon as possible. A clean slate is always welcome for me, and I think it should be for others too.

Now I realise my blog has recently turned quite sentimental, but I’d like to imagine people are taking something from it. I guess I should take this opportunity to thank everyone who finds a minute or two to read what I write about – I try not to ramble and I do try to make a point, so thank you for even clicking and having a look at my blog. It means a lot to me!

Let’s hope in my next posts I’ll be slightly chirpier, otherwise you guys can clear me out.

Ba-dum-bum-pshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…………………. *resounding silence*.

Leave a Reply

