Be yourself!

Conformity is something I absolutely hate.

In the past, I’ve been prone to following the crowd and not stamping my foot down and disagreeing with those around me when I should have.

However, during my time at school (especially in year 11), I began to gain a sense of confidence within myself and became a little more outspoken. Inevitably, as the years have flown by, that outspoken nature has developed and so produced the person I am today. I’m quite awesome, really.

The point of this post is simple. I want to encourage people to be themselves, and make sure they let people know exactly who they are and what they’re about. There is no use living in the shadow of other people or even worse, living in the shadow of your real self. If you like something, or if you’re a massive fan of something, EXPRESS YOURSELF. Many people won’t agree with things you like or love, or may find you slightly odd, but I’m pretty sure that we as humans don’t exist in order to please everyone around us.

Having a passion about something is great – following someone else and copying what they like just to fit in or create a false identity for yourself isn’t. So, the next time you feel like you’re being coerced into not standing up for what you believe in, or feel you’re not able to fangirl/fanboy over something you are completely obsessed with, it’s important that you re-evaluate the company you keep but also, re-evaluate how you need to go about being more you and less ‘them’.

That’s all for now. Ta-ra.

2 thoughts on “Be yourself!

  1. Love this post! There’s absolutely nothing more important than to be yourself and express yourself – just as you have said!

    You should check out my own blog, you mind find it relevant to this post 🙂
    lankylane.wordpress.com

    1. Thank you so much for reading and commenting! I’m glad my post was able to speak to you. I read your post on your name change – Lanky Lane it is haha!

Leave a Reply

