Reflections on the past year.

Hello all,

WordPress has been a place where I’ve attempted to talk less about me and more about things…

…but just for a little while, these things can now be pushed aside because I’d like to take a moment to reflect on the past year, and share my thoughts with anyone who us reading and remotely interested in my life – which is probably not many people.

I started university a year ago, heading into a place I had absolutely no idea about. I was pretty frightened and nervous, like many will be this year, and didn’t think I could hack it at all. A year later and I’m heading into the second year of my degree after passing my first with a first, something I never thought I’d be able to do! Considering I made an absolute mess of my UCAS application in A2 and struggled through the whole getting-to-university process, picking Brunel university and even deciding to attend was one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life.

This past year has made me a completely different person. I even managed to get through my first year at university while having a job and keeping in touch with those who mattered most to me. The jump from A levels to uni is undoubtedly a massive one, and I’m so proud that I managed to maintain the perfect balance in everything I do.

The mention of having a job brings me onto my next point. This past year I’ve had three jobs! This is something I’d never thought I’d be saying…ever. It’s still too weird. Anyway, I shifted from my first job to my second around exam season during my first year at uni – it wasn’t the best time to make such a decision, but my was it a good one! I spent the first half of my summer working two jobs, which was difficult but so worth it, and the second half working one job and experiencing yet again, many different things. One of my jobs made me realise what I wanted to pursue as a future career, and it could be said that I had my calling while doing it. Now, it may sound silly to some but having a job really exposes you to a multitude of things. Having my own money has made me realise its value, but also, made me grateful for being employed when many others aren’t. I’m a lucky girl.

This past year, I think I’ve finally begun to shape into the kind of person I will one day become. I’ve felt surges of confidence and have learned to keep on keeping on. I’ve managed to see and learn a lot of cool things, surrounded by people who have been nothing but patient and kind to me. I guess I’d like to say thank you to everyone who took the time to listen to me when I was in need over the last year.

Finally, my biggest achievement from the last year was passing my driving test. This is a success that holds an incredibly special place in my heart. That probably sounds extremely weird to anyone reading, but the experiencing of learning how to drive was possibly the most challenging journey I’ve had in my life thus far. I can’t believe I did it!

So, I didn’t exactly save a life or eliminate poverty, but over the last year I achieved more than I ever expected. For the first time in my life I actually feel quite proud of myself! Once again, I must thank everybody who helped me along the way, you know who you are and you have contributed to helping me have a brilliant year.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

